Men of the Word 2020-2021

Wednesday, October 7, 2020 7:00 PM - 8:45 PM

Wisdom: Living Successfully in a Treacherous World

The social upheaval we have witnessed over the past six months serves as a high-definition portrayal of Paul’s description of unredeemed humanity—“For even though they knew God, they did not honor Him as God or give thanks, but they became futile in their speculations, and their foolish heart was darkened. Professing to be wise, they became fools” (Romans 1:21–22).

One thing in particular that stands out is the rejection of the rule of cause-and-effect. Those in charge of public education are increasingly skeptical that 2+2=4. Politicians imagine out loud that shuttering prisons will bring increased safety to our communities. Masses assemble to call for special protections for lawbreakers while decrying the nuclear family. Increasing numbers of young men believe they have an inherent right to a guaranteed income, even if they don’t work. And the list goes on. At the center is the conviction that cause-and-effect is an old social invention that must be demolished, and in its place a new order erected—one in which there will be no relationship between sowing and reaping.

To reject cause-and-effect is to reject the God of the Bible. God has revealed Himself as a God of faithfulness and order, not chaos and confusion. In fact, this constancy is what makes wisdom possible. Because ideas have consequences in God’s universe, because particular behaviors foresee particular rewards or punishments, and because one reaps what he sows, a person can listen, observe, learn, and change to the extent that he can anticipate the dangers on life’s path and navigate them with joy and success. But wisdom does not come from self-reliance. Those who lean on their own understanding are the very ones believing that 2+2=5. Instead, wisdom begins, continues, and ends only with submission to God’s Word (Proverbs 1:7).

In short, foolishness is the real pandemic, and the consequences are far more devastating than one can imagine. The extraordinary need of the day is for Christian men to live and lead with divinely-bestowed wisdom.

With this in mind, Men of the Word will embark on a year-long thematic study of the book of Proverbs—the curriculum on cause-and-effect. Beginning Wednesday evening, September 2, we invite all men to join us from 7:00–9:00 PM each week for study, discussion, fellowship, and encouragement.

Don’t miss this opportunity to strengthen your own convictions and encourage one another.


Recent Lessons and Teachings

Introduction To Proverbs

Brad Klassen | Selected Scriptures | 9/2/2020

Men of the Word | Series: Wisdom

Download(s): MP3 / PDF / DOC / PDF

Fearing God

Brad Klassen | Selected Scriptures | 9/9/2020

Men of the Word | Series: Wisdom

Download(s): MP3 / PDF / DOC / PDF

Forsaking Folly

Brad Klassen | Selected Scriptures | 9/23/2020

Men of the Word | Series: Wisdom

Since the purpose of the book of Proverbs is to convey wisdom, it is natural that many of its teachings deal with wisdom’s antithesis—foolishness. Proverbs treats foolishness as mankind’s greatest enemy. It is man’s most lethal disease. He is already infected with it by the time he is born. Wisdom—“the fear of God” (Proverbs 1:7)—is the only antidote.

Download(s): MP3 / PDF / DOC / PDF

Next Event Occurrences

Wednesday, October 7, 2020, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Building Relationships

Wednesday, October 14, 2020, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Accepting Correction

Wednesday, October 21, 2020, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Q&A

Wednesday, October 28, 2020, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Preserving Purity, Part 1

Wednesday, November 4, 2020, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Preserving Purity, Part 2

Wednesday, November 11, 2020, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Keeping Silent

Wednesday, November 18, 2020, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Speaking Truth

Wednesday, November 25, 2020,

No Meeting

Wednesday, December 2, 2020, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Evening of Fellowship

Wednesday, January 6, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Cultivating Humility

Wednesday, January 13, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Esteeming Work, Part 1

Wednesday, January 20, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Esteeming Work, Part 2

Wednesday, January 27, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Q&A

Wednesday, February 3, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Valuing Wealth

Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Enjoying Rewards

Wednesday, February 17, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Practicing Charity

Wednesday, February 24, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Evening of Prayer

Wednesday, March 3, 2021,

No Meeting

Wednesday, March 10, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Respecting Authority

Wednesday, March 17, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Raising Children, Part 1

Wednesday, March 24, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Raising Children, Part 2

Wednesday, March 31, 2021,

No Meeting

Wednesday, April 7, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Handling Fools

Wednesday, April 14, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Pursuing Justice

Wednesday, April 21, 2021,

No Meeting

Saturday, April 24, 2021,

Men's Conference

Wednesday, April 28, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Uprooting Anger

Wednesday, May 5, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Q&A

Wednesday, May 12, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Acquiring Respect

Wednesday, May 19, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Trusting God

Wednesday, May 26, 2021, 07:00 PM - 08:45 PM

Evening of Fellowship

Share