Men of the Word 2021-2022

Wednesday, September 22, 2021 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Darkened in Understanding


The Christian Mind

“Therefore, prepare your minds for action, keep sober in spirit, fix your hope completely on the grace to be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ.” —1 Peter 1:13

The Bible is abundantly clear that the mind is central to life. How one thinks is of such importance that the Bible’s chief means of distinguishing between believers and unbelievers focuses on the state of the mind. The unregenerate man is he who acts according to futile thoughts, whose understanding is darkened, and who cannot comprehend the things of God (Romans 1:21; 1 Corinthians 2:14; 2 Corinthians 2:14; Ephesians 4:17). The Christian, by contrast, is he who has had the veil of darkness lifted, who has been taught by God, and who has learned Christ (2 Corinthians 2:16; 1 Thessalonians 4:9; Ephesians 4:20–21).

The significance of the mind is further emphasized by the way in which the Bible describes the Christian life. It is not a life of irresponsible ignorance, irrationality, or intellectual neutrality. It is not a life of ecstatic experiences or unrestricted emotions. It is a life of loving God with all one’s mind (Matthew 22:37). It is the conscious habit of putting to death worldly thinking and having one’s mind transformed by exposure to truth (Romans 12:2; 2 Corinthians 10:5). In fact, the Christian life is a life of struggle—an ongoing battle over the right use of the mind (1 Peter 1:13).

Too many Christian men fail to appreciate these truths. It is not that they do not think. It is not even that they do not think about Christian things. It is that they do not think biblically. They rightly conclude that mindless Christianity offers no anchor for the soul, but they do not take the necessary steps to understand and apply what it means to use their minds in the specific way that God has intended.

Doing so makes all the difference. To think biblically establishes the sure footing needed for a successful defense against temptation. To think biblically generates confidence for faithful gospel proclamation. To think biblically is essential for effective leadership in the home. To think biblically provides the courage needed to resist the pressures of an increasingly anti-Christian culture.

Beginning September 8, Men of the Word will start a new series entitled, “The Christian Mind.” This study is intended for men of all ages and will focus on the Bible’s extensive teaching about the kind of thought life God intends for men to exercise and enjoy. We invite you to join us for this timely look at God’s Word on the mind.

For more information, visit the Men of the Word table on the patio on any Sunday during the month of August.

Download 2021-2022 Schedule

Next Event Occurrences

Wednesday, September 22, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Darkened in Understanding

Wednesday, September 29, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

The Lifting of the Veil

Wednesday, October 6, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Evening of Prayer

Wednesday, October 13, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Q&A

Wednesday, October 20, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Small Group Fellowship

Wednesday, October 27, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

What Is Truth?

Wednesday, November 3, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

By What Authority?

Wednesday, November 10, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Why Do You Doubt?

Wednesday, November 17, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Knowledge Puffs Up

Wednesday, December 1, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Fall Fellowship

Wednesday, December 8, 2021, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Small Group Fellowship

Wednesday, January 5, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

We Have the Mind of Christ

Wednesday, January 12, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

The Spirit of Truth

Wednesday, January 19, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

The Renewing of the Mind

Wednesday, January 26, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Think on These Things

Wednesday, February 2, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Q&A

Wednesday, February 9, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Taking Every Thought Captive

Wednesday, February 16, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

For Conscience’ Sake

Wednesday, February 23, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

You Ought to Be Teachers

Wednesday, March 2, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Evening of Prayer

Wednesday, March 16, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

The Word of the Cross

Wednesday, March 23, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Making a Defense

Wednesday, March 30, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Trained to Discern

Wednesday, April 6, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Teach Your Sons Diligently

Wednesday, April 20, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Small Group Fellowship

Wednesday, April 27, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Seek Her as Silver

Wednesday, May 4, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Beware of Philosophy

Wednesday, May 11, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Q&A

Wednesday, May 18, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Worship in Spirit and Truth

Wednesday, May 25, 2022, 07:00 PM - 09:00 PM

Spring Fellowship

Share